My Books Smelled Like Melons

This is an exercise in prose poetry followed by the original {much shorter version} and a version that is not at all prose.

I wasn’t in a hurry when I left; it was a rather methodical expedition through our collected memories which were tucked carefully into seven boxes and driven over three rivers to where I gently landed in a cottage that had room enough for a single bed, two windows, and a dark oak phone booth that engulfed the multi-purpose living room. That phone booth became my nemesis as it hovered over, reminding me that I was alone in every sense of the word; so I turned it into my craft haven where I stored all my projects, ribbons and paper in yellow, violet, green, red and blue took the place of the dark wood exterior. There were no quick changes happening here, so I slipped into the welcoming quiet, and looked out the window as I watched the cows out for their daily stroll along the fence line.  The phone in that booth never rang and Superman never came to save me.

{Original}

I wasn’t in a hurry when I left; it was a methodical expedition through our collected memories which were tucked carefully into seven boxes. My journey took me to a cottage that had a single bed, two windows and a dark oak phone booth that engulfed the living room.  I slipped into the welcoming quiet.  Superman never saved me.

{Non prose version}

I wasn’t in a hurry
so, no I did not leave in a scurry
it was a slow exploration
a mental cleansing if you will
The memories were separated
fought over and then packed
Seven boxes were driven
over mountains and rivers
There laid a little house
and things were quite as a mouse
And there was the phone booth
the one that held the truth
Huge in the living space
it towered over me

Side note: I love the show The Big Bang Theory and got the idea for this prose piece from an episode where Sheldon was lamenting over the thought of having to move and how he would have to go the grocery store to get boxes for packing and was in a tizzy because my “books will smell like melons”.

Wax me some poetic love {or criticism I promise I can take it like a big kid}:

